My Asian conical hat

Wearing my Asian conical hat in a Bangkok street.
Wearing my Asian conical hat in a Bangkok street.

Walking a tropical country under a sun can be tiresome for any kind of persons, even those coming from other tropical countries. It can make you to reduce attention to a very interesting tour in a great site as the Angkorian temples in Siem Reap. Prepare, thus yourself to protect from the sun. I bought an inexpensive Asian conical hat in Bangkok last week – it is called in Cambodia ដួន do’un. As I came back to the hotel, the lady laughed very much as soon as she noticed my hat. She said I was resembling a Vietnamese farmer. ‘Actually I don’t mind to resemblance a Vietnamese farmer,’ I replied, ‘I find it very practical to walk under the sun and even if it is raining is like having a small umbrella attached to your head.’

Back in Cambodia I got similar comments: I was resembling a Vietnamese.

I looked information about it as Vietnamese hat and it is not considered an exclusive Vietnamese object, but it is called Conical Asian hat located mostly in East Asia, including Cambodia, Vietnam, Indonesia, Malaysia, China, Korea and Japan!

However, apart from which countries it represents, I still considering it very handy, practical, light and an excellent protector against the sun, the rain and even the insects. I fully recommend it if you want to walk through the temples in Siem Reap, the busy streets of Phnom Penh and even Bangkok, even if they will say that you seem as a Vietnamese farmer… by the way, Vietnamese farmers are good and kind people… why it should be something to be ashame of?