Lost Loves movie of Chhay Bora

Phnom Penh. The Meta House invites to the premiere of the movie Lost Loves, Cambodian Genocide Drama of Cambodian film director Chhay Bora. Lost Loves is the best-looking Cambodian film in years, according to the movie house press release. They continue stating that it is ‘almost too beautiful to look at, given its subject matter.’

The Meta House Team describes that the film dwells in pleasant images of sunsets, lush green rice fields and waterfalls that serve as a backdrop to the sinister story of a family whose members are killed off one after the other.

The first impression for Cambodian young people would be ‘another film on the Khmer Rouge regime! What a boring,’ but I found this blog of  Tivea Koam, who says:

‘I need to recall something first. My told me about the film a few months ago that the film was so great that it made hundreds of students at his organization cry, but I didn’t really believe and were not interested in film about Khmer Rouge, which I thought that it is all over again and again and it is boring to watch something that have ended for a long time. However, last week, I watched five-minute-clip of the film during the presentation of Kon Magazine that my class did last semester. I felt so into the film since it was so emotional and heartbreaking to me and I told myself that no matter how old and the same the film about Khmer Rouge is, if you are good at producing it and make your audience feel it like the film Lost Love, you can make the story not boring at all.’ (See Khmer Daily Life Blog)

The film is directed by Chhay Bora, the first Cambodian independent movie producer. Lost Loves is based on the true story of Chhay Bora’s mother-in-law Nun Sila, whose father was executed by the Khmer Rouge soldiers.

The Meta House is located at No.37, Sothearos Boulervard. The entrance for the premiere is 5 US dollars that inclused a drink. Cambodian students get 50% discount if they have an ID.