Matt Tilley and Joe Hildebrand, enemies of Colombia

f

Matt Tilley and Joe Hidebrand used their program in the Australian Triple M Radio to insult Colombians with racism, hatred and discriminating comments.

Here once more another post about Australia and this time it has to see with Colombia, my proud country. After years knowing people from around the world, I only have appreciation for all humanity, all countries and all cultures. Personally I have many Aussie friends and I find them simple, kind and with vision… less two guys: Matt Tilley and Joe Hildebrand from Triple M Radio. Well, these two persons made very hateful comments against Colombia and let us see the transcription if this is coming from which kind of persons:

“I think what we have got to remember is that they have a sort of ragged history, remember the guy that kicked an own goal for Colombia once and then was killed”

Yes, Andrés Escobar. It has become a sort of icon for ignorant people like Tilley and Hildebrand about Colombia. I remember one year ago a man from an African country telling to me “the only thing I know about Colombia is that they killed a football player for making an own goal”. They know only the headnews and they know it very bad. I replied to the African: “There are many other things out of it and more positive.” Yes, Matt and Joe, you are a sort of ignorant guys and by sure you even have left Australia.

“Then they had Rene Higuita the goal keeper who famously could do a handstand and flip his legs up and save it that way. Hands? Too easy! Chimpanzees could do that, I’m going to do a donkey kick”

That´s ridiculous. Probably envy. It seems that they feel a sort of frustration, maybe they could not kick even a ping pong. Let us see one of the greatest Colombian men in action and I hope Matt & Joe can watch it without crying:

 “The Colombian team has been described as Colombian coffee growers” ” Is Colombia really famous for his coffee?” “Are you suggesting that there is another stimulant beginning with C that Colombia is more famous for than caffeine” “I just want to say this; it seems to me that if you mention Colombia the next thing that people generally mention is cocaine”

“Oohh the coca cola, white lady, snow”

Yes, in my 15 years meeting non-Colombians, the most ignorant ones mention it, because their brain is too lazy to see beyond it or because their growing interest in consume.

“I mean everybody has it, is on it, sells it, I hear of people who go there backpacking and say it’s crazy, Oh yeah a bit of blow everybody has some, (Laugh)”

It is an open offence against 50 million of Colombians. I could demand these two guys for defamation against my person. The most curious is that even if Colombia is the first world producer of cocaine – how is the cocaine consumption in Australia? – I never have known it.

“Colombian people who go, well you know what we are a bit more than that we have gangs and we kill people too you know and coffee.”

“Sometimes after you’ve done a big night on the blow you need a cup of coffee to straighten yourself out”

“We are saying that Colombians love it”

I am saying that I declare these two guys as enemies of Colombia and I will not remove this title until they apologize. What was Australia some decades ago? I hope Colombia will be the World Cup Champion and I would like to listen what they will say.

Watch this video and get some approach to Colombia:

Matt & Joe, see what your countryman, Shaun Clohesy says about Colombia, a country he knows and loves.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Albeiro Rodas

Albeiro Rodas (in Cambodia Sky Ly Samnang), is a MA in Digital Communication, independent journalist and a Salesian of Don Bosco from Amalfi, Colombia, based in Cambodia since 1999. He is the creator of the Don Bosco schools of journalism in Sihanoukville and Kep with young people from poor communities and the founder of the Don Bosco Kep Children Fund. Medal for Social Commitment UPB (2010); among the 100 more upstanding Colombians abroad (Marca Colombia, 2012, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X39xwdGtVXI) and among the 12 Colombians that are making this a better world 2013 (http://www.colombia.co/en/culture/colombians-that-are-making-this-a-better-world.html).

2 responses to “Matt Tilley and Joe Hildebrand, enemies of Colombia”

  1. Andrea Mejia says :

    Slow news day hey…. I did not think it was that offensive, I think you are over reacting.

Leave a Reply

